Lagos State Public Works Corporation

The State of roads within the Lagos metropolis and the need to extend road infrastructure to the hinterland like Somolu/Bariga, Oshodi/Mafoluku, Isolo/Ejigbo, etc. became evident in the late seventies. These are part of the reasons that informed the setting up of an agency that will handle public works with more aggression.

Lagos State Works Management Board was thus formed in 1980 through the enactment of a law, with a board provided for its management. The Board handled Construction of roads. Public buildings and other public Works with emphasis on Direct Labour approach. The Old Governor’s Office, Alausa, Onikan Stadium etc. are part of the several Public Buildings handled by the Board along with Construction of several roads within and around Lagos metropolis.

The return of the Military in 1984 caused a change in the focus of the agency and was thus changed to Public Works Corporation with the aim of operating as a semi-commercial agency. With this change, the steam in the engine of providing and maintaining road infrastructure in the State was lost and this resulted in Lagos roads being riddled with potholes and ditches which made commuting very difficult.

This was the situation prevailing when Col. Buba Marwa become the Administrator of the State in 1996. The agency was then restructured and renamed Direct Labour Agency with the main focus being maintenance and rehabilitation of roads within the State. The Agency tackled this duty headlong and recorded a lot of achievements on construction/rehabilitation of roads like Ikorodu Road (Owode Onirin to Ikorodu Roundabout), AIT Road, Agbado-Ijaiye Road, Iju-Ishaga-Oke Aro Road, among others.

However, the advent of democracy in 1999 brought in the administration of Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu and with a redefined emphasis on road maintenance/rehabilitation; the agency was again restructured and renamed Public Works Bureau, with the vision “To be a formidable name in Road Rehabilitation and Construction” and the mission Statement “To be primarily responsible for the Rehabilitation and Construction of all roads, such that Roads remain motorable all year round by Responding promptly to all situations. This is to be accomplished at minimal cost, while not compromising quality and efficiency”. The bureau proved equal to the task carrying out maintenance on many roads within the State.

With the movement of the then Permanent Secretary who was at the head of the Bureau up till 2003, to a higher capacity as the Permanent Secretary (Office of Infrastructure), a General Manager was appointed and the agency renamed Public Works Corporation. The Corporation has continued to play its role of being primarily responsible for road rehabilitation and maintenance within the State.

The availability of an Asphalt Plant at the disposal of the Corporation has helped in no small way in the realization of the set objectives. The Asphalt Plant was manufactured by MARINI SPA of Italy and was installed at 300 ton/hour Capacity in November 1997. The plant has continued to be maintained by In-house staff of the Corporation with only one major intervention of TAM in 2006. This was carried out by technicians from the manufacturer with the support of the Corporation’s in-house staff.

On 6th July 2010 Governor Babatunde Raji Fashola appointed Mr. Gbenga Akintola as the Executive Chairman of the Corporation. The Corporation underwent a great transformation under his leadership and two asphalt plants were installed, one at Imota and the other at Badagry.

In June 2015, His Excellency, Governor Akinwunmi Ambode appointed Engr. Ayotunde Sodeinde as the new General Manager of the Corporation. The Corporation has six (6) major departments and five units namely, Project, Asphalt Production, Mechanical, Electrical, Administration and Human Resources, Accounts, Public Affairs Unit, Budget and planning, Legal and Procurement Unit.


  • Project,
  • Asphalt Production,
  • Mechanical,
  • Electrical,
  • Admin/Human Resources,
  • Accounts,
  • Public Affairs Unit,
  • Audit Unit,
  • Budget & Planning Unit,
  • Legal Unit,
  • Procurement Unit.